Bravo Insider Exclusive!

Create a free profile to get unlimited access to exclusive videos, sweepstakes, and more!

Sign Up for Free to View
The Daily Dish The Real Housewives of Potomac

Candiace Dillard Says Her Problems With Her Mom Are Due to Their Very Different "Love Languages"

Love languages are not just for romantic relationships as we learned on The Real Housewives of Potomac this season.

By Marianne Garvey
Candiace Dillard Reveals Exactly Why Her Mother Hit Her in the Face

The Real Housewives of Potomac's Candiace Dillard wasn't bleeding but she had a welt after her mom bashed her with a purse at her best friend's wedding.

How to Watch

Watch The Real Housewives of Potomac on Bravo on Sundays at 8/7c and next day on Peacock. Catch up on the Bravo app

That's because, according to Candiace, the two speak very different "love languages." Umm...

She explains:

"My mom and I are complicated, because, mostly, we love differently. My mother’s love language is more so, geared towards gifts and acts of service. Those are two of the love languages," Candiace says. "One of my major love languages is quality time and attention is like huge to me. From the people I love I need attention. And I’ve often felt like she covers my love language with her love language versus attempting to get to know me in my love language."

OK, so what's she talking about here? (Hear more straight from Candiace's mouth in the After Show clip above.)

To start, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate is a very famous 1992 book by author Gary Chapman that describes in great detail the five ways that Chapman says people express love. Some people live by this book. 

One of the languages is affirmation, and using words to build loved ones up. Think, compliments, affirmations, and telling someone you love them often.

Two is “quality time” spent with loved ones. Undivided attention, being present and in the moment, and making time just for loved ones is the key here. (These types recognize the importance of getting off your phones!)

Receiving gifts is number three. Something physical given to a loved one us what they need to feel loved. It doesn’t have to be expensive, it’s the thought that counts.

Number four is acts of service. Doing things your partner or loved ones may not need they think done for them is the sweet spot here. Being thoughtful, remembering to empty the dishwasher, make the bed, and running an errand for someone you love can speak volumes.

Fifth is physical touch, with many saying this is their way of communicating a deep love. It doesn’t have to be sex, it can be holding hands or hugging to let someone know you love them.

Figuring out your partner or a loved one’s love language can help you better understand their needs and communicate yours.

Just don't smack someone in the face with with your purse, OK? That's not a love language, FYI.

Latest Videos

Want the latest Bravo updates? Text us for breaking news and more!