Kendall Jenner and Rihanna Wore the Most Surprising Coachella 2017 Trend

Sequins, sheer dresses, dad hats, and bralettes were everywhere.

After two weekends of partying in the desert, that's a wrap on Coachella 2017. You won't be subjected to any more FOMO on your social feed, since basically every celeb, influencer, and starlet was snapping and posting photos from the Palm Springs music festival and its plethora of parties. Looking back on the year that was in Coachella celeb fashion, the only rule seems to be there are no rules. Famous folks ditched flower crowns and fringe for Nike sport bras, face masks, thigh-high boots, and sequin tights. Here are a few key trends we picked out of the festival style chaos.

Sparkles

We always thought of Coachella as more boho than spangly, but celebs piled on sequins, from Hailey Baldwin’s sparkly tights to Jasmine Tookes’s flashy pants and Kendall Jenner’s sequin-covered top. But no one could top Rihanna’s Gucci bedazzled body suit or glittery face mask.

" I can't go home yet, cuz enough people ain't seen my outfit "

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

when you came dressed to be team turtle at the @kendricklamar show! #Chella17 #had2bethere #🐢

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

Day2 #Coachella

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

hangin at the #revolvefestival @revolve 💅🏻

A post shared by Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin) on

✌🏾🌸🤘🏾🦋

A post shared by Jasmine Tookes (@jastookes) on

having so much fun at the @bumble #WinterBumbleland party, hosting with my sister #ad ❄🌴🐝

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

Bralettes Everywhere

Maybe it was the influence of the Victoria’s Secret Angels, but shirts were definitely optional at the festival. Bras, bralettes, and underwear as outerwear — anything to beat the heat.

Shirts = optional. Bras are the It accessory this season. #SummerLikeAnAngel

A post shared by Victoria's Secret (@victoriassecret) on

Festival like an Angel. Shop the looks from the whole weekend via link in bio. #VSAngelOasis

A post shared by Victoria's Secret (@victoriassecret) on

Angel's best friends 💖🐣🦄🦋✨ #VSangelOasis #tbt

A post shared by Alessandra Ambrosio (@alessandraambrosio) on

Ok here we go! #coachella2017

A post shared by Ashley Tisdale (@ashleytisdale) on

hangin @bumble 😛 #winterbumbleland #ad

A post shared by Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin) on

Sheer White Dresses

This is another Palms Springs trend that makes total sense: floaty white dresses (as seen on the likes of Katy Perry and Emma Roberts) go well with 90-degree heat.

vintage vibez

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

Bye Coachella. Until next year 🌴 @TributePortfolio #MarriottxCoachella #IndependentMoments #BrandPartner

A post shared by Emma Roberts (@emmaroberts) on

96 degrees in the shade ☀️

A post shared by Leona Lewis (@leonalewis) on

Sheer Black Dresses

Call it yin and yang: sheer black dresses were big too, as worn by Coachella fixture Paris Hilton, VS Angel Sara Sampaio, and blogger Chiara Ferragni.

#Slay 🔥

A post shared by Paris Hilton (@parishilton) on

About a week ago #AmericanDays

A post shared by Chiara Ferragni (@chiaraferragni) on

Day 3 #coachella

A post shared by Sara Sampaio (@sarasampaio) on

Athleisure

You can wear athleisure everywhere else, so why not Coachella? Nike sport bras, tracksuits, dad hats, sneakers, fishnet bikes shorts, and designer fanny packs all worked their way into celebs' outfits during the festival.

been doing this since before you were a bloop in the womb

A post shared by KATY PERRY (@katyperry) on

Thank god that's over 🏡

A post shared by Sofia Richie (@sofiarichie) on

Rose golden (The story of the chosen)

A post shared by TINASHE (@tinashenow) on

@kendalljenner arriving to #revolvefestival

A post shared by REVOLVE (@revolve) on

Dramatic Boots

Rihanna’s thigh-high Maison Margielas weren’t the only outfit-making boots in the desert. In addition to all the stars wearing Timberlands to the festival, concertgoers like Rita Ora and Hailee Steinfeld opted for really dramatic boots.

Coachella Coachella 🌴🌸✨

A post shared by hailee steinfeld (@haileesteinfeld) on

Chel chel 🌞

A post shared by Rita Ora (@ritaora) on

Getting ready for the third day of Coachella with my twin @ciprianaquann Thanks for having us @hm

A post shared by Tk Wonder (@tk_wonder) on

Wigs, Facepaint, and Bandanas

Headliner Lady Gaga tried out face paint, Kylie Jenner dipped into her collection of neon highlighter-colored wigs for Coachella, while Jared Leto’s accessories just looked really nutty. He might be the most 'Chella celeb of them all.

A post shared by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on

highlighter hair 🌈

A post shared by Kylie (@kyliejenner) on

😷

A post shared by JARED LETO (@jaredleto) on

The Lookbook is Bravo's home for inspiring content and experiences that feed fashionistas with a steady diet of share-worthy styles, personalities, and industry news. Like us on Facebook to stay connected to our daily updates. 

You May Also Like...

Recommended by Zergnet